Duanesburg Diner & Restaurant

REVIEWS

Yelp

Ray T.
Ephrata, PA

8/9/2015
The Duanesburg Diner absolutely reeks of character. I love diner exploration, and stepping into the Duenesburg is stepping into a 50 year old time capsule. The building is a prefabricated 1950s diner, with a add-on dining room, so the front is authentic cramped diner car and counter, with 60 years worth of character accumulated. The back dining area is adorned with autographed pictures of Alan Jackson and the guy from the movie Punisher (thanks sue for the coffee inscribed).

Food was possibly an afterthought, but it was perfect diner food. Breakfast all day served up a Greek omelet for 5.75, with 1.25 for homefries. Kids burgers seemed legit, and fries looked pretty good. Total for 4 kids and 3 adults was $42.

If you are on 88 and in need of something beyond a gas station Subway, drive to Duanesburg. If you like Americana, drive faster. It's as local yokel, patriotic, and amusing as all diners should be.

James W.
Portland, OR

7/22/2015
A real simple diner. Good simple food at a good price.

Joshua H.
Ballston Spa, NY

7/5/2015
Gyro was really good. Staff was very friendly, didn't mind that kids were messy. Spaghetti and meatball from kids menu had a good meatball, not salty. A great diner experience

Daniel Z.
Manhattan, NY

11/8/2012
My boyfriend and I stopped at this place on our way to a hiking trail. The lady that served us is very nice and attentive to refill our drinks, and the food surprised us by its fresh and healthy. We live about an hour away from this diner, but we plan to go back and eat here again.
Ian W.
Pelham, NH

5/19/2010
I'm surprised the Duanesburg Diner & Restaurant has not been reviewed on Yelp. This classic family style diner, which is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, is popular with the locals, travelers (like me), and truckers (big gravel parking lot), which is located in the center of Duanesburg at the Route 7/Route 20 intersection and conveniently close to I-88 Exit 24. I was here a very long time ago (late 90s) for breakfast on my way out to Binghamton.

The atmosphere inside is not fancy and has the feel of a very casual hometown diner and family restaurant with plenty of pictures on the walls in the diner car section (counter seating & booths) and in the attached cozy dining room. The typical diner fare is offered here including the typical breakfast dishes, salads, sandwiches, burgers, seafood, chicken, pasta, comfort dishes, homemade desserts, and more. Beer & wine served here. Free refills on coffee and iced tea only.

Okay, I rolled in here as the place opened up in the early AM. I was really in need of coffee, since I was very exhausted from the night before (I know I should've been a trucker instead of having a desk job, since I enjoy driving long distances). I sat up at the lunch counter (with stools) and I was offered a hot cup of coffee ($1.25), which was just what I needed to get things going for me and wake up. The coffee was on the strong side, just the way I enjoy it. The friendly waitress did not rush me and I took a few moments gradually waking up and deciding what I wanted for breakfast.

I decided on the Sausage Gravy over Pancakes ($5.95). The food came out quickly and the portion was very generous. There were 3 big soft buttermilk pancakes topped with lots of hot sausage gravy, covering the plate. I had sausage gravy & biscuits at another diner a couple days before, but the sausage gravy served here was way better! The gravy was very creamy (not too thick) with small chunks of sausage and the "not so thick" pancakes were soft and very moist inside with a slight sweet taste. The food was very tasty and filling. Two thumbs up!!!

The service was quick and friendly. The waitress offered refills on the coffee until I told her I was all good. I had about 3 cups in all.
 
Tripadvisor
Reviewed January 17, 2016
If your in Duanesburg and stop at the only traffic light in town you are there. Diner food? you bet... Guys at the counter in camo and mud on thier boots?... you bet. Good food?... you bet...Is it good? Yes it is. Step back in time and enjoy real food in a real diner. Liam & Colleen New York

“Duanesburg Diner and Resurant”
Reviewed October 19, 2015
Home cooking Had breakfast here. French Toast and eggs. Best French toast that I have ever had. Generous portions. Very nice people. Cozy friendly atmosphere.

“a fun stop”
Reviewed July 7, 2015
We stopped here twice on a trip north; it is a typical diner, with good food and pleasant staff. Servings were large; we had breakfast both times, but the dinners that were served to others looked really good.